Pregnancy Calendar for Dogs
Date: Fri 2 Mar 2012
Sire: Foxgrove's Moonlight Gunnder
Dam: Hunter's Moonlight Bluebell Gwendolyne
Breeder: Jelle Huysmans
Fri 2 Mar 2012
  • First day of mating.
  • 48 hours after the first mating the bitch should be mated again. Subsequent matings occurring over a period of time enhance the chances of fertilaziton taking place.
  • The spermatozoa migrate up through the cervix.
Sat 3 Mar 2012
  • Sperm travel searching for a mature ripened eggs.
Sat 3 Mar 2012 -
Sun 4 Mar 2012
  • Spermatozoa reach the eggs in the oviducts.
Sun 4 Mar 2012 -
Mon 5 Mar 2012
  • Fertilisation occurs in the oviducts which lead from the ovaries to the uterus.
Mon 5 Mar 2012 -
Wed 7 Mar 2012
  • Fertilised eggs migrate down the oviducts and into the uterine horns.
  • The migration continue to enable even spacing of the embryos.
  • During this migration the eggs will grow into a blastocystes.
Tue 13 Mar 2012 -
Thu 15 Mar 2012
  • The blastocystes implant in the wall of the uterus.
Tue 13 Mar 2012 -
Tue 27 Mar 2012
  • The blastocystes will grow into an embryos.
  • During the next two weeks the important organs will develop.
Fri 16 Mar 2012 -
Fri 23 Mar 2012
  • Dams nipples begin to pink enlarge.
  • The fur on the dams belly and around the nipples may become thinner.
Thu 22 Mar 2012 -
Thu 29 Mar 2012
  • Morning sickness might occur due to hormonal changes or stretching and distension of the uterus. Dam may appear a bit apathetic. She may be off her feed for a while and vomit from time to time.
  • Feeding the dam several meals spaced throughout the day might help.
  • Your veterinarian may want to prescribe a drug to relax the uterus.
  • De echo heeft uitgewezen dat Hina zwanger is!
  • The ultrasound has shown that Hina is pregnant!
Tue 27 Mar 2012 -
Sat 31 Mar 2012
  • An experienced person (a breeder or a veterinarian) can tell by careful palpation whether the dam is pregnant.
  • It's now the best time to do this because the embryos are walnut-sized now and easy to count.
Fri 30 Mar 2012
  • Start to increase the dams food ration.
  • Don't overfeed, excessive weight gain should be avoided.
  • The foetuses are now and are fully developed miniature dogs.
Thu 5 Apr 2012
  • The Dams abdomen starts to get larger.
Sun 15 Apr 2012
  • It's very easy now to feel the puppies, counting them might be a bit more difficult.
Wed 18 Apr 2012 -
Thu 26 Apr 2012
  • Dam begins to spend a lot more time in self-grooming.
  • Her breasts become even more swollen.
  • She may become a bit restlessness and begin to search for a suitable place to have her puppies.
Fri 20 Apr 2012
  • The dam might lose her appetite during this period. Her abdomen can be crowded with puppies.
  • It is better to feed several smaller meals spaced throughout the day.
  • You can easily detect abdominal movement now.
Fri 20 Apr 2012 -
Sat 5 May 2012
  • Nipples and vulva should be gently cleaned with warm water, you might want to trim the hairs surrounding the nipples, to allow easier access for the puppies to suck.
  • 26/04/2012
Mon 30 Apr 2012 -
Thu 3 May 2012
  • Milky fluid may be expressed from the nipples.
  • 30/04/2012
Tue 1 May 2012
  • You might want to start taking the dams rectal temperature each morning and evening.
Fri 4 May 2012
  • Twelve to 24 hours before she is due to deliver, the dams rectal temperature may drop from 101 to 98 degrees.
  • Clear discharge from the vulva might occur.
Sat 5 May 2012
  • Expected date of whelp. Of course this is just an average. Whelping may take place from the 59th to the 65th day. Puppies born before the 58th day will probably be too young to survive.

Bron: http://www.debbiejensen.com/date.html